Thoroughbreds of the BFA World Championships

The Barrel Futurities of America (BFA) is an organization that aims to unify the barrel racing futurity industry. The BFA World Championship is a week-long event in at the historic Lazy E Arena in Gutherie, Oklahoma. The payout exceeds $1 million and the highlight of the event is the $250,000 $uper$takes in which the winner receives $100,000 in prize money. When the dust settled, Leslie Willis and The Midnite Express, owned by Copper Spring Ranch, clinched the hundred grand with a 15.790-second run.

The Midnite Express is by Fly the Red Eye, a sorrel stallion that earned the title of AQHA Open Supreme Champion through his ability in racing, cattle work, show ring performance, and halter. The $uper$takes winner is out of Dina Blue, a race-winning mare by AQHA Race Champion Aged Stallion Jess Louisiana Blue. The Midnite Express’s pedigree also includes Mr Eye Opener, Mr Jess Perry, and Bully Bullion. In addition to champion Quarter Horses, there are also many exceptional Thoroughbreds in his lineage. He may owe his turn of foot to Sunny Slope Stakes winner Louisiana Slew, Tremont Stakes winner Raise Your Glass, and famous match race speedster Beduino. Altogether, The Midnite Express is 72.7% Thoroughbred in eight generations.

Raise Your Glass was also represented through his son Special Effort in the pedigrees of Juvenile 1st Go Round winner SR Easin Ta Heaven and the BFA Futurity World Champion Epic Guy. Other Thoroughbreds that were represented in the pedigrees of go round and average winners include Anchor Watch, Direct Win, Disco Jerry, Dothan, Fol’s Native, Lake Erie, Little Request, Osage Streaker, Pass Em Up, Master Hand, Nashville, War Bam, and Zevi.

Kassie Mowry and Epic guy win the BFA Futurity World Championships. Photo via Barrel Horse News Facebook.

Here are the Thoroughbred percentages of the go round winners and champions of each division:

Juvenile 1st Go Winner – SR Easin Ta Heaven ridden by Troy Crumrine and owned by Stock Ranch: 59.0% Thoroughbred

Juvenile 2nd Go Winner – Mercy She’s Fabulous ridden and owned by Loni Kay Lester: 42.6% Thoroughbred

Juvenile Average Winner – Jesswatchmestreak ridden by Hallie Hanssen and owned by Dave and Lori Zabel: 44.5% Thoroughbred

Futurity Finals Winner – Flobot ridden by Joao Leao and owned by Dian Taylor: 52.0% Thoroughbred

Futurity 1st Go, 2nd Go, Average and BFA Year End Champion Futurity Horse – Epic Guy ridden by Kassie Mowry and owned by Kristen Williams: 41.8% Thoroughbred

Derby 2nd Go Winner – Famous Lil Jet ridden and owned by Jordan Briggs: 62.5% Thoroughbred

Derby 1st Go, Finals, and Average Winner – SR Industry Titan ridden by Troy Crumrine and owned by Nick and Tom Wylie: 57.4% Thoroughbred

BFA Year End Champion Derby Horse – Feel the Sting ridden by Ryann Pedone: 52.7% Thoroughbred

Junior Winner – French Rivierra ridden by Kylar Telip: 51.6% Thoroughbred

Open WinnerDreams First Flash ridden by Wenda Johnson: 63.3% Thoroughbred

Ryann Pedone and Feel the Sting, the BFA Year End Champion Derby Horse
Photo via BFA Facebook page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s